Nina Sky is an American R&B duo composed of identical twins Nicole and Natalie Albino.

In 2004, The Jettsonz introduced the girls to Cipha Sounds, a hip hop DJ under the Star Trak label owned by The Neptunes (Pharrell and Chad Hugo). Cipha Sounds was impressed when he heard the girls sing and suggested that they use the "Coolie Dance" riddim. The twins then proceeded to write "Move Ya Body" (along with The Jettsonz, who also produced the record), mixing Caribbean, R&B, and pop rhythms. Eventually, a demo of the song was made. The demo fell into the hands of Eddie O'Loughlin, the president of Next Plateau Entertainment (which is a division of Universal Records). O'Loughlin signed the twins to a contract and they started working on their debut album.

The single "Move Ya Body" was released on April 27, 2004 and reached number 17 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. Urban music and rhythmic top 40 stations quickly added the song to their play lists, sending the song up the charts. By July 17, "Move Ya Body" had gone to the top 5 on both sides of the Atlantic. and had also reached the top 5 of a world combined R&B chart based on the US, UK, Germany, France and Australia. The song had also reached the top 50 of the Australian charts. On June 22, 2004 they released their first self-titled album, featuring Betty Wright. In November, 2004 Nina Sky released their first mixtape, named The Nina Sky which had 10 songs.

Natalie and Nicole continued to work and promote their music. They have contributed to the reggaeton movement with songs such as "Oye Mi Canto", and "Más Maíz" with artist and producer N.O.R.E. They were also featured artist on Sean Paul's song "Connection" from his album "The Trinity"

On October 25, 2005 they released their second mixtape, called La Conexion. The mixtape was influenced by Latin music. The album contained single "Ladies Night" (released April 17, 2006 and featuring Ivy Queen) released with songs "Loving You" and "Your Time", It also contained Kassanova remix of their hit-single "Turnin' Me On." The album features a lot of singers: Pitbull, N.O.R.E., Notch, Richie Rivera, Mackie and Yaga. It also included Tony Touch's hit Play That Song featuring Nina Sky and B-Real, released one month before mixtape's release.

In August 2006, Nina Sky were first featured on the cover of the publication The FADER, in its 39th issue. 

In 2006, their third mixtape "80's Babies" was released.

Read more



Sign up now for our newsletter and stay up-to-date with the latest news, developments and be the first to hear about upcoming events and line-ups!